mmmmmMooli’s – Old Delhi meets Tokyo

24 Nov

What: Moveable Feasts at Mooli’s

Where: 50 Frith Street, W1D 4SQ

WHY?

A couple of weeks ago, my London Pakistani crew raved “OMGRidayouaregoingtoloveit” regarding Mooli’s – a year old cosy eatery serving Indian street food in the heart of Soho. Needless to say, it took me just one trip to get hooked! The creators of Mooli’s claim that “mooli’s are old delhi meets tokyo” and this is certainly reflective in the decor as well as the design of the menu. I won’t commit the sacrilege of terming this as a South Asian version of a burrito since it’s not, it’s simply a moolia roti roll with tasty, wholesome fillings and flavourful chutneys. The term mooli itself, for those unacquainted with Urdu/Hindi, translates literally to radish – the really pungent white vegetable that I (and perhaps you as well) avoided eating as a child. However, this is one interpretation of the term mooli I am certainly not avoiding!

The menu offers moolis with fillings ranging from chicken to pork to chickpea and each mooli comes with a distinct chutney to complement the meat or vegetarian filling. They also serve soups, salads and an assortment of drinks including the popular lychee, guava and chili-pomegranate mojitos and the quintessential mango lassi with a hint of ginger.

The two moolis that I LOVE and repeatedly order are the paneer and goat moolis. I must admit, I am not usually a fan of paneer. Recently, in conversation with my cousin from the other side of the border, I remarked, thank God our side of the family migrated to Pakistan, at least we don’t have to deal with paneer in our cuisine and he, a great lover of paneer, retorted back, well in that case I am glad there is Pakistan for people like you. Who knew paneer could be a source of India-Pak tension 😉

Anyway, getting back to the paneer mooli – it has won me over! I like the fact that the paneer is not in the form of chunky cubes but  is  instead ground and sauteed in a 5-spice blend served alongwith a tomato chutney. Another favourite is the goat mooli which is packed with spicy diced mutton and crunchy onions, potatoes and coriander. For the sake of analogy, it’s almost like having a delicious home-made aaloo gosht in a roti roll, very reminiscent of home. I recently tried the Keralan Beef Mooli, which sounded very promising by description but I didn’t enjoy it as much the other moolis. While I did like tenderness of the beef, the flavour combination didn’t appeal to my tastebuds. I also enjoyed the daal soup, which was wholesome and perfect for frigid winter evenings in London.

They also have a selection of kulfis. I have yet to try the  kulfis but I have heard only complimentary things about them. Priced at £5 for a regular sized mooli and between £2.85 – 3.50 for a mini-mooli, a trip to Mooli’s for dinner will not set you back more than £10.

The best part (from their blog): “Obviously, everyone is invited. You dont have to have a passport which is filled with innumerable visas and work permits.” This kinda made my day, finally someone speaks my language!

Check out their website moolis.co.uk for more details on the menu and more on the concept and/or their regularly updated (hilarious) blog: moolis.blogspot.com. They also have a 2 for 1 special on mojitos on Tuesdays all day long. So, what are you waiting for?

2 Responses to “mmmmmMooli’s – Old Delhi meets Tokyo”

  1. shivani November 25, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

    omg ok mojitos AND mooli roti rolls! I’m flying over.

  2. john sloan December 4, 2010 at 2:14 PM #

    mmmmm that place sounds really good & interesting

Leave a Reply

